Delicious Duo: Lean Eggplant Parmesean and Kale Pesto

 kale pesto,  eggplant  parmesan 
Classics are classics for a reason – they work! But adaptions can be awesome too as long as the soul of the dish is preserved. I am no Italian nonna and cannot claim to have the same touch but I think I pay a handsome tribute to the original with my Eggplant Parmesan-kale pesto combo.

For my Eggplant Paremesean, 

I used the long slender eggplants that are commonly referred to as Japanese eggplants here in Canada and in the United States. I cut them into scallops, with a half inch depth. I used two eggplants and needed two eggs and two slices of bread for the breading.

Breading: 

Beat two eggs in a bowl. Submerge the eggplant discs in the bowl so as to coat them with a layer of egg. Pulse two slices of bread with three tablespoons of grated Parmesean cheese, a pinch of salt and a tablespoon of dried basil or oregano. Spread the crumbs onto a clean flat surface and gently press the eggplant discs against them such that all surfaces are coated with the seasoned crumbs. Collect the coated eggplant pieces in a plate. 

Heat a skillet, preferably non-stick, and coat the bottom with extra virgin olive oil. Once the oil reaches an optimal temperature, pan fry the eggplant discs in three patches. When one side becomes brown and crisps, flip to fry the other side. Medium flame allows for the inside of the cutlets to cook well.

Once the Eggplant Parmesan is ready, soak in an Italian tomato sauce of your choice. I made one with olive oil, handful of chopped onion, basil, a small pod of galic, three steak tomatoes, salt and pepper. Steak tomatoes have a lot of seeds so if you are not pulsing with a blender in the end, use Roma tomatoes. 

kale pesto, eggplant parmesan 
Kale pesto:

Using kale instead of the more popular basil, mint, parsley or spinach is a genius move Imao ūüėÄ. Of course, I cannot claim to come up with it but I am rather pleased to announce that it’s pairing with eggplant Parmesan had a very high dining vibe to it.

Here’s a kale walnut pesto recipe that is almost identical to what I did. I hope you love the depth of its flavour do.

Kale is also a nutritional powerhouse. Here are some of its benifits.

I used this awesome pesto and Eggplant duo with both whole wheat pasta and toast and found resounding success. Let me know if the formula works for you!

Leave a Reply

