A bold and beautiful Pomegranate Beet Pasta Sauce 

A sauce should be well… saucy. A sauce without character is like a burlesque dancer without sex appeal.

Keeping that in my mind you could do variations on staples. But remember, while tomato , herb and cheese based sauces are classics for a reason, venturing into the new is what adventure is about. So get bold with us by trying this pomegranate beet sauce. It’s sweet, it’s spicy, it’s tart and an all-round sweetheart. It’s toddler approved making it the perfect vehicle to get some nutrition in while building a plate pretty enough to land a prince.

Beet pasta sauce, pomegranate pasta sauce, beet pomegranate pasta sauce, healthy pasta sauce
To make this pasta for four, 

You will need:

Half a large pomegranate 

Quarter a big beet or half a small

One cup pasta

A handful of chopped onions

A pod of garlic

Two tablespoons of tomato purée

Extra virgin olive oil

Salt

Pepper

A tablespoon of white vinegar 

Method of preparation:

I cooked a cup of pasta. I mixed rotini and penne in an effort to finish up my reserves.

Then I puréed a pod of garlic and half a large pomegranate. I did not strain this mixture if you dislike the texture of minute bits of seeds, you could. I personally think it adds crunch. Then I puréed quarter a large beet and mixed the two sauces. 

I coated a saucepan with a thin layer of olive oil. Turned on medium heat and added in a handful of chopped onions. Once they turned a bit translucent, I added in the pomegranate-garlic-beet mix. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, a tablespoon of white vinegar, and a handful of cheddar cheese. I also added two tablespoons of tomato purée. Once the desired consistency was reached, I added in the pasta, gave it a quick stir and turned off the flame.

Leave a Reply

